JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser !

American Grown

Michelle Obama / Michelle Obama Various
In April 2009 First Lady Michelle Obama planted a kitchen garden on the White House's South Lawn.  As fresh vegetables fruit and herbs sprouted from the ground this White House Kitchen Garden inspired a new conversation all across the country about the food we feed our families and the impact it has on the health and well-being of our children.Now in her first-ever book American Grown Mrs. Obama invites you inside the White House Kitchen Garden and shares its inspiring story from the first planting to the latest harvest.  Hear about her worries as a novice gardener - would the new plants even grow? Learn about her struggles and her joys as lettuce corn tomatoes collards and kale sweet potatoes and rhubarb flourished in the freshly tilled soil.  Get an unprecedented behind-the-scenes look at every season of the garden's growth with striking original photographs that bring its story to life.  Try the unique recipes created by White House chefs and made with ingredients just picked from the White House garden.  And learn from the White House Garden team about how you can help plant your own backyard school or community garden.Mrs. Obama's journey continues across the nation as she shares the stories of other gardens that have moved and inspired her: Houston office workers who make the sidewalk bloom; a New York City School that created a scented garden for the visually impaired; a North Carolina garden that devotes its entire harvest to those in need; and other stories of communities that are transforming the lives and health of their citizens.In American Grown Mrs. Obama tells the story of the White House Kitchen Garden celebrates the bounty of gardens across our nation and reminds us all of what we can grow together.   

  • Published by Penguin Random House
  • Fiction/Non-FictionNon Fiction
  • Genre General NonFiction
  • Target Audience Adult
  • Released 29th May 2012
  • Duration 04 Hrs. 09 Mins.
  • ISBN 9780449808597